Site icon Nova Scotia Today

Taylor Swift announces the release date of her album “Red” (Taylor’s version)

A few years back, in June, Taylor Swift published an explosive Tumblr post accusing two major music executives of ‘bullying’ her. The executives involved are  Borchetta and Braun, who according to Taylor are both, “toxic manipulators.”

So when Scooter Braun acquired Taylor’s label -The Big Machine label, that resulted in him being the owner of Swift’s all masters (except Lover) because traditionally, record companies own an artist’s masters. Swift, however, claimed that when she switched record companies last fall, one of the conditions of her move was that going forward, she would own her masters, meaning she would have sole say over how and where her music was used. But that deal only applied to her new material, starting with that year’s forthcoming album Lover. The masters for her old material, as in all the music she made prior to 2018, were still at Big Machine Label Group.

Now after a lot of drama, Taylor is re-recording all her old masters as re-releasing them as – Taylor’s version. On Thursday, the pop superstar dropped a cryptic 30-second video teaser on her socials, in which a series of 13-letter word jumbles floated out of a vault, proving she is still the QUEEN of easter eggs!

Now today Swift posted on her Instagram and wrote, “I know some of you thought that would be like trying to solve a crossword and realizing there’s no right answer BUT…you played it good & right. Congrats pals, you guessed the correct titles and feature artists on Red (my version). ”

She also confirmed the rumours regarding who is featuring in her album and shared, “The vault tracks will feature @chrisstapleton, @phoebebridgers, @markfoster and the first song @teddysphotos and I ever wrote together the first time we met in 2012❗️I can’t express my gratitude enough to these artists for helping me bring these songs to life.”

“I can’t wait til we can dust off our highest hopes and relive these memories together. We’ll also be making a bunch of new ones too, since Red (Taylor’s Version) includes so many songs you haven’t heard yet. Til then, I’ll be counting down and picturing it all in my head. In burning red.
Red (Taylor’s Version) out November 19. Pre-order now”

Taylor swift’s fans also correctly guessed that Phoebe Bridgers would be the one featuring on “Nothing New.” Ed Sheeran, who’s also featured on the re-recorded “Everything Has Changed” track, linked back up with Swift on the bonus track “Run.” “Taylor’s got a few surprises in store for you, I’ll say that,” Sheeran teased in an interview back in June.

Chris Stapleton is appearing in “I Bet You Think About Me.” As reported by Billboard, “Other tracks that were originally meant for Red but ended up being handed off to other acts — “Better Man” (to Little Big Town in 2017) and “Babe” (to Sugarland in 2018) — will find their way back home on Red (Taylor’s Version). And yes, we will finally be able to listen to the full 10-minute version of her critically acclaimed record “All Too Well,” which she teased on Instagram at the time of announcing her next re-recorded LP in June.”

The nine bonus tracks of Red (Taylor’s Version) are as follows:

21. “Ronan”
22. “Better Man”
23. “Nothing New,” featuring Phoebe Bridgers
24. “Babe”
25. “Message in a Bottle”
26. “I Bet You Think About Me,” featuring Chris Stapleton
27. “Forever Winter”
28. “Run,” featuring Ed Sheeran
29. “The Very First Night”
30. “All Too Well” 10-minute version

Exit mobile version